The Brooklyn Nets are a professional American basketball team based in Brooklyn, New York. The franchise competed in the National Basketball Association (NBA) as a member of the Atlantic Division of the Eastern Conference. The team plays all home games at the Barclays Center. The team are one of two basketball teams located in New York City; the other being the New York Knicks

History of the Brooklyn Nets

  • In 1967, the club established its charter franchise in the NBA’s rival league, the American Basketball Association (ABA). 
  • Originally, Brooklyn played in New Jersey as the New Jersey Americans. 
  • After their first season, the Americans relocated to Long Island, New York, and became the New York Nets. 

Rise in the ABA

  • During their time in New York, the Nets won two ABA championships in 1974 and 1976. 
  • In 1976, the ABA merged with the NBA, which forced the franchise to be absorbed into the NBA with the San Antonio Spurs, Indiana Pacers, and Denver Nuggets. 
  • In 1977, the team returned to New Jersey, where the Nets played until the 2012 season. 

Hanging on the Nets -A Brooklyn Nets Community

From 1977 through the 2001 season, the franchise was not a strong contender in the NBA. The team went through numerous rebranding efforts to gain popularity. During this time, the team had a few decent players that kept the team entertaining. Buck Williams played for the team from 1981 to 1989 and finished as the all-time leader in points. However, it wasn’t until the “Big 3” of Vince Carter, Jason Kidd, and Richard Jefferson began playing together that people began to notice the hype in New Jersey. 

Carter, Kidd, and Jefferson led the team to back-to-back Eastern Conference Championships but failed to win an NBA title. To this day, the team remain without an NBA championship. In 2012, the team moved from New Jersey to Brooklyn, where the franchise has been ever since. 

Brooklyn Nets History

Brooklyn Nets enters their ninth season in the NBA. The franchise began their tenure trading for Deron Williams, Kevin Garnett, and Jason Terry in a super trade that cost the team multiple first-round picks. The trio, along with Joe Johnson and Brook Lopez, never made it past the second round of the NBA playoffs. Since 2015, the team has been eliminated from the playoffs in the first round twice. 

Nets Ownership & Franchise Management

The team is owned by Jose Tsai, while Sean Marks serves as the General Manager. Steve Nash coaches the team and begins his first year as head coach in the NBA. The team’s G-League affiliation is the Long Island Nets. In the team’s history, the franchise has moved around quite a bit. Their home arenas have included Teaneck Armory (1967-1968), Long Island Arena (1968-1969), Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum (1972-1977), Rutgers Athletic Center (1971-1981), Brendan Byrne Arena (1981-1996), Prudential Center (2010-2012), and the Barclays Center (2012-present). 

Brooklyn Nets Championships 

All appearances that have been compiled have combined the time that Brooklyn spent in New Jersey as part of the NBA. 

Playoff Appearances1979, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1985, 1986, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1996, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2019, 2020
Divisional Titles2002, 2003, 2004
Conference Titles2002, 2003

Brooklyn Nets ABA Titles

YearNameOpponentSeriesSeries MVP
1974ABA ChampionshipUtah Stars4-1Julius Erving
1976ABA ChampionshipDenver Nuggets4-2Julius Erving

Erving helped the Nets claim the ABA title in 1974 over the Utah Stars. It was the first time that the team with the best record in the regular season won the championship. His play helped establish the Nets as one of the better teams in the ABA, which brought spectators and credibility to the league. Two years later, Erving capped off the final year of the ABA with another title. 

During the 1976 postseason, Erving averaged 34.7 points and was named the MVP once again. That season, Erving was in the top-10 in points, rebounds, assists, steals, blocks, free throws attempted and made, and three-point field goal percentage. Unfortunately, Erving didn’t stay with the Nets during the merger and enjoyed a successful career with the Philadelphia 76ers. 

Retired Numbers

The Brooklyn Nets have retired five numbers throughout the team’s history including all of the following: 

  • Drazen Petrovic (3)
  • Jason Kidd (5)
  • John Williamson (23)
  • Bill Melchionni (25)
  • Julius Erving (32)
  • Buck Williams (52)
Who is the owner of the Brooklyn Nets?

The current owner of the Nets is Joseph Tsai. He bought the team in 2019. 

Who is the head coach of the Brooklyn Nets?

As of this season, former two-time MVP Steve Nash serves as the head coach of the Nets. 

Have the Nets ever won an NBA title?

Since the Nets joined the NBA as part of the ABA-NBA merger, the team has not won a championship as a member of this league.