NY Jets

The NY Jets are a professional American football team based in the metropolitan area of New York. The Jets compete in the National Football League (NFL) as a member of the league’s American Football Conference (AFC) and compete in the East Division. The Jets have played all home games at MetLife Stadium in East Rutherford, New Jersey since 2010. 

History of the New York Jets

  • In August 1959, the first organizational meeting of the American Football League took place. 
  • At the time, Harry Wismer represented the city of New York and proclaimed that the state wanted another professional football team. 
  • Wismer was granted a charter franchise, which was later dubbed as the New York Titans. 
  • However, by 1962, the Titans struggled, as well as the team financially, which led to piling debt and Wismer to release control of the team. 

NY Jets Struggles & Rise to Fame

  • Headed by Sonny Werblin and a five-man syndicate, the team was saved from bankruptcy. 
  • After Werblin bought the team for $1 million, he renamed the team like the New York Jets since the team would play in Shea Stadium and near LaGuardia Airport. 
  • Weeb Ewbank became the first GM and head coach of the Jets.
  • His first order of business was to nab quarterback Joe Namath, who helped lead the team to fame.
  • Namath led the franchise to their only Super Bowl title during the 1968 season with a victory over the Baltimore Colts. 

The Merger: A Direction of New York Mediocrity

In 1970, the AFL and NFL merged, which led the team to fall into a state of mediocrity. Namath produced three solid seasons after the league merged, but injuries impacted the rest of his career. With no franchise quarterback in place, the team continued to spiral downward until the 1980s arrived. 

In 1982, New York reached the AFC Championship Game but was defeated. The Jets qualified for the playoffs in 1985 and 1986 but did not make it very far. It wasn’t until 1998 that the team won their first AFC East Division. Former New England Patriots head coach Bill Parcells led the team back to relevance but stepped down after the 1999 season. Shortly after, current owner Wood Johnson took control of the team. 

The Jets haven’t won an AFC East title since 2002 and have qualified for the playoffs five times under the direction of three different coaches. The most successful tenure came from Rex Ryan and quarterback Mark Sanchez who helped the franchise qualify for the AFC Championship Game in 2009 and 2010. Since then, the team has not qualified for the playoffs. 

The Jet Sweep – Home for New Jerseyites and New Jerseyans!

In 1960, the franchise joined professional football under the name of the New York Titans. The three-year run ended in 1963, which led to a name change of being called the New York Jets. The team originally competed in the AFL East until the division was changed to AFC East. Their home arena is located in East Rutherford, New Jersey, which is just five miles outside of New York. 

NY Jets Ownership & Franchise Management

The owners of the New York Jets are Woody and Christopher Johnson. Christopher serves as the Chairman and CEO. The team President is Hymie Elhai, while Joe Douglas serves as the General Manager. Adam Gase serves as the team’s head coach. The Titans/Jets franchise has played at multiple home stadiums. Those include Polo Grounds (1960-1963), Shea Stadium (1964-1983), Giants Stadium (1984-2009), and MetLife Stadium (2010-present). 

NY Jets Championships

Jets Playoff Apperances1968 (AFL), 1969 (AFL), 1981, 1982, 1985, 1986, 1991, 1998, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2009, 2010
Jets Divisional Titles1968 (AFL East), 1969 (AFL East), 1998, 2002
Jets Conference ChampionshipsNone

NY Jets Super Bowl Wins

1968AFL ChampionshipOakland Raiders27-23Shea Stadium

The NY Jets led 13-10 at halftime, but a field goal in the third quarter tied the game at 13-all. New York responded with an 80-yard touchdown drive to go back up. In the fourth quarter, a field goal cut the deficit to a touchdown, but a costly interception by George Atkinson on Namath set Oakland up on the Jets’ five-yard line. On the next play, Oakland scored a touchdown. 

In the end, a go-ahead touchdown pass to Don Maynard with 7:24 left in the game put the Jets back on top. New York’s defense stopped Oakland on their next three remaining drives to clinch the victory. Namath was awarded Super Bowl MVP after he threw for 266 yards and three touchdowns. 

Retired Numbers

The New York Jets have retired five numbers throughout the team’s history including all of the following: 

  • Joe Namath (12)
  • Don Maynard (13)
  • Curtis Martin (28)
  • Joe Klecko (73)
  • Dennis Byrd (90)