NJ Devils

The New Jersey Devils are a professional ice hockey team that plays in Newark, New Jersey. The Devils are a member of the National Hockey League (NHL) and compete in the Metropolitan Division in the Eastern Conference. Originally, the club was based in Kansas City Missouri as the Kansas City Scouts in 1974. However, after a pair of brief detours, the Devils have made their home in New Jersey. 

History of the New Jersey Devils 

  • The Devils originated in Kansas City as the Scouts in 1974. 
  • The Scouts lasted two seasons before moving to Denver, Colorado, and becoming the Colorado Rockies. 
  • After five years, the Rockies moved to East Rutherford, New Jersey, and became the New Jersey Devils. 
  • The Devils played at Meadowlands Sports Complex in East Rutherford until 2007 before moving to the Prudential Center in Newark. 

Before the NJ Devils: The birth of the Scouts

  • In 1972, the NHL made plans to add two expansion teams, which included one in Kansas City, Missouri. The ownership group was headed by Edwin G. Thompson. 
  • The Kansas City Scouts started playing during the 1974-1975 season. 
  • The nickname “Scouts” derived from Cyrus E. Dallin’s statue, which stands in that city’s Penn Valley Park. 
  • The Scouts finished last in their first season, which included a 27-game losing streak. 

The Step Before New Jersey: The Rockies

  • After two seasons in Kansas City, the team moved to Denver and became the Colorado Rockies, where they played at McNichols Sports Arena. 
  • The team was in playoff contention through 60 games but closed out the season with an 18-game losing streak. 
  • In the Rockies’ second season, the team qualified for the playoffs but were eliminated in the second round. 
  • Lack of stability caused the Scouts/Rockies to go through 10 coaches, and their eventual move to New Jersey. The franchise never won more than 22 games through six seasons in Colorado.

Becoming the NJ Devils

  • The Devils grew to a title contender during the 90s, qualifying for the playoffs all but one season. 
  • Over a decade, the Devils won three Stanley Cup titles. 
  • The Devils won six Metro Division titles during the 2000s, including qualifying for the Conference Championship two times. 
  • Since 2010, the Devils have not won a division title, but won the Eastern Conference Finals during the 2011-2012 season, but lost the Stanley Cup Final. 

Dancing with the Devils-A Community for New Jerseyans!

When the Devils competed as the Scouts and Rockies, the team competed in the Smythe Division. Since moving to New Jersey, the team has competed in the Eastern Conference and the Metropolitan Division. Their minor league affiliations include the Binghamton Devils (AHL) and Adirondack Thunder (ECHL). 

NJ Devils Ownership & Management

The owners of the Devils are the New Jersey Devils LLC, a subsidiary of Harris Blitzer Sports & Entertainment. Josh Harris serves as the chairman. The General Manager of the team is Tom Fitzgerald. Lindy Ruff serves as the head coach. The Devils have played at three arenas in their franchise history, which include Hy-Vee Arena, Meadowlands Arena, and the Prudential Center. 

NJ Devils Championship

Devils Playoffs Appearances1978, 1988, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2018
Devils Divisional Titles1997, 1998, 1999, 2001, 2003, 2006, 2007, 2009, 2010
Devils Conference Titles1995, 2000, 2001, 2003, 2012

NJ Devils Stanley Cup Championships

1995Detroit Red Wings4-0East Rutherford, Brendan Byrne Arena
2000Dallas Stars4-2East Rutherford: Continental Airlines Arena
2003Mighty Ducks of Anaheim4-3East Rutherford: Continental Airlines Arena

The Devil’s qualified for their first Stanley Cup, while Detroit returned to the Finals for the first time since 1966. The Red Wings had not won a title since 1955, so one franchise was going to walk away with a championship after a long title drought. The Devils swept the series easily. 

Five years later, the Devils took on the Dallas Stars. The Devils took a 3-1 lead before the Stars forced a Game 6, but a tightly contested 2-1 win claimed the franchise’s second championship. The team was led by captain Scott Stevens, goaltender Martin Brodeur, and head coach Larry Robinson. 

In 2003, the second-seeded Devils played to the bitter end against the Mighty Ducks. It was Anaheim’s first-ever appearance in the Stanley Cup.  In Game 7, Michael Rupp scored the game-winning goal, while Jeff Friesen dominated his former Duck teammates by scoring the final two goals to clinch a 3-0 victory. 

Retired Numbers

The New Jersey Devils have retired five numbers throughout the team’s history including all of the following: 

  • Ken Daneyko (3)
  • Scott Stevens (4)
  • Patrik Elias (26)
  • Scott Niedermayer (27
  • Martin Brodeur (30)